Nightingale

Under the moonlight pale
I heard the nightingale
While I wandered by
Beneath the darkened sky
Listening to its lonely song
After the day so long
And I prayed for dawn to appear
When birds would sing songs of cheer
Yet the nightingale continued its tune
For me and the white crescent moon
A symphony for two
But before I knew
The chirping left
Leaving the night air cold and deaf
Despite the night being young
The nightingale decided its song was sung
And I found myself longing
The truth upon me itself dawning
I wished to hear its song a while longer
With this thought I fell asleep
Into chambers dark and deep

(c) Bret Sears – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool

About poetryoftheasian

I've been writting poetry for only a few years as a little hobby, and have had a few published in a small poetry contest. I currently want to write more and improve as much as I can. Any tips or feedback would be much appreciated. It is possible that after a few weeks I will revise parts of some of my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nightingale

  1. Beautiful and tantalizing. I want to hear the nightingale sing!

    • Thank you! This poem was actually a revision of an old poem I wrote after spending the night at a friends house. His window was open and a nightingale kept me up all night.

  2. D.S. Lear says:

    “The nightingale decided its song was sung” Stir a thought that maybe it awaits someone to change it’s mind. Thought provoking piece I like this one.

  3. A lovely poem and so descriptive. Well done!

  4. Jingle says:

    amazing writing!

Leave a Reply

