Asian Drinking Poems

For every day
I have to drink the sake
Just drink, never think

My mind is fading
Life will still be decaying
I need the sake

Cant stop
Just one more drop
Of that distilled drink
That stains my life
Like paper and ink

(c) Bret Sears – 2008

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool

About poetryoftheasian

I've been writting poetry for only a few years as a little hobby, and have had a few published in a small poetry contest. I currently want to write more and improve as much as I can. Any tips or feedback would be much appreciated. It is possible that after a few weeks I will revise parts of some of my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Asian Drinking Poems

  1. Luke Prater says:

    Hi there-

    Thanks for the visit and kind words, bro.

    Like your poem above… intrigues me… alcohol slowly decaying mind and body… well described in just a few lines. Succinctness always makes me smile. It’s the key to good poetry, I realise more and more. Enjoy that the first two stanzas are rendered as tercets, then differing in the final one… your parting-shot is my favourite bit:

    That stains my life
    Like paper and ink

    Nice πŸ™‚

    Warmest Salad,

    Luke

  2. Desiree says:

    Nice poem. Quite deep.

  3. I enjoyed this, especially the last two lines (I agree with Luke :] ) A very bitter sweet story. Great Job, Bret!

  4. brian says:

    hey1 thanks for dropping in…the last one brings it home nicely…esp those last 2 lines!

  5. Jingle says:

    awesome poem!
    πŸ˜‰

  6. kyoichi says:

    i was wondering since i’m asian and all, from which country are you?

  7. Short Poems says:

    Well written poem, love it πŸ™‚

  8. aubrey p says:

    love this! deep yet succinct. that’s hard to achieve.

  9. Imagina says:

    I love this, great composition, very sharp πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

