Trapped Within a Prison

Past my frozen cell
I stared into the ruby sea
Where archaic thoughts doth dwell
Upon the ocean’s swell.
Dreaming of things what were to be
Or of the paths I once traveled
Paths well tread
Until I found
They left me lifeless
Hollow
And dead
For my soul unraveled
Into bits and pieces
Of fine twine
Yet sour
Like atrocious wine.

But from my dreams I awoke
To high pitched screams
Born from the mind’s yolk
Uncovered by dark smoke.
Then I arose from dying dreams
That left me inept
Cold and heartless
Like the years of old
Full of rage
Unnerved
Consumed by sadness
Since I could not accept
Destiny long since foretold
A truth unveiled
Timid fear
Showed what was revealed

Yet the sea I saw was still there
Without a thought, a care
So deep, so vast
Surviving through the past
Unlike I
Who lets out a heavy sigh
Waiting to be swept away
Into death and decay

(c) Bret Sears – 2010

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool

About poetryoftheasian

I've been writting poetry for only a few years as a little hobby, and have had a few published in a small poetry contest. I currently want to write more and improve as much as I can. Any tips or feedback would be much appreciated. It is possible that after a few weeks I will revise parts of some of my poems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trapped Within a Prison

  1. aubrey p says:

    LOVE THIS. it’s so dark and eerie, yet beautiful. it feels like some of the ideas behind the lines are juxtaposed but they work so well when combined. you have a talent. keep it up 🙂

    • Thanks! 😀 Glad to hear you enjoyed it! Wasn’t sure about it since I wrote it my junior year and ended up trying to put too many meanings behind the poem and had to change a word or two, haha.

  2. Jingle says:

    brilliant poem!
    🙂
    way to go!

  3. Jingle says:

    Hello, How are you?
    You are invited to attend Thursday Poets Rally, despite that fact that you are also represented as one of the fresh poets,
    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/thursday-poets-rally-week-27-august-26-sept-1-2010/

    Thanks for the attention!
    Happy Wednesday!
    😉

Leave a Reply

